Are you running an event, seminar or training that is of interest to bookcareers.com?
Upload your own event here

Loading Events

« All Events

  • This event has passed.

How Journals Work: A complete introduction – Online Training

09/10/2019 @ 13:30 - 15:00

|Recurring Event (See all)

One event on 30/10/2019 at 13:30

£572.00

Overview (Level 1)

Developed from our most popular introductory course this online workshop is now available globally.  We have amalgamated the previous 2 separate training courses into one interactive course over 2 sessions. In this blended learning workshop delegates will have interactive time with the tutor online as well as pre- and post- course work to prepare for and reflect on what has been discussed and will provide delegates with an understanding of what makes successful journal, finance and business models as well as the basics of copyright and IP. The workshop provides an introduction to context, job roles and the publication stages in scholarly publishing and also covers the fundamentals of marketing. It is relevant to all those new to journals publishing with up to one year’s experience or those who have been out of this area for several years and are seeking a refresher.

Online Session 1 – How Journals Work: An introduction

Date and Time:
Wednesday 9 October, Online, (CEST 3.30pm-5.00pm, EDT 9.30am-11.00am, BST 2.30pm-4.00pm)

Online Session 2 – How Journals Work: Measuring success

Date and Time:
Wednesday 30 October, Online, (CET 3.30pm-5.00pm, EDT 10.30am-12.00pm GMT 2.30pm-4.00pm)

The course will comprise

  • Pre-course reading/exercises
  • Comprehensive delegate pack
  • Pre-course questionnaire
  • 2 one and a half hour interactive online workshops
  • Post course exercises marked by our tutor
  • 48 hour email follow up with the tutor
  • Certificate on completion of all elements.

Programme

  • Introduction to the basics of marketing
  • Journals and membership associations
  • Measures of journal success (1) impact, (2) finance, (3) visibility
  • Intellectual property rights
  • Challenges, opportunities and initiatives – including archiving, relationships with libraries, developing country access, linking and quality standards
  • Types of publishers
  • Roles in journal publishing
  • Authors: why they publish, what they want, article types
  • Editors, editing and editorial responsibilities
  • Publishing ethics
  • Print and online publication, fulfilment and customer service
  • Subscription and open access journals
  • Online journals: publisher sites, aggregators

What will you learn?

Understand what success criteria are applied to journals by learned societies, publishers, librarians and all in the scholarly communication environment and the place of the scholarly journal in research communication;  have a greater awareness of journal finances in both open and subscription-based journals; comprehend why intellectual property rights are important and all the publication stages after acceptance; apply this knowledge to improve the quality of your work and to improve your working efficiency.

Early bird rates for members – Book by 9 July 2019*

Not an ALPSP member?  Want to take advantage of the reduced member rates? Click here to find out how your organization can join ALPSP

Members early bird            £308.00 (+VAT where applicable)
Members full price             £344.00 (+ VAT where applicable)
Non Members full price     £572.00 (+VAT where applicable)
Academic rates are available, please contact Melissa.marshall@alpsp.org

Details

Date:
09/10/2019
Time:
13:30 - 15:00
Cost:
£572.00
Event Categories:
,
Event Tags:
,
Website:
www.alpsp.org/Events/Introduction-to-Journals-Publishing-Online-Training/63146

Organiser

ALPSP

Are you running an event, seminar or training that is of interest to bookcareers.com?
Upload your own event here